A fairy-tale story or an Au Pair from Russia.

What happened with me recently looks like a fairy-tale or a movie script with a happy ending, but it is a true story.

Two weeks ago goAUPAIR emailed me that a new Host Family applied for the Au Pair program and asked me to contact the family. I read the family profile and found that a working single mom with three eleven year old daughters is looking for a Russian speaking Au Pair. When I called and introduced myself, I immediately got the feeling that I know this mom. As soon as the mom told me that she wants a Russian Au Pair for her daughters adopted from Russia, I got the picture. Two and a half years ago I volunteered for a Pearl S. Buck International event and there I met this special mom.

At the event I immediately identified her from many families by her special relationship with her daughters – kind, caring and respectful. She told me her story and this woman amazed me by her incredible soul, kind heart and commitment to her children.

I also was surprised by her strong desire to keep a Russian heritage for her daughters. She drove from far away and brought many Russian artifacts that she keeps at home, like “Matreshki” and a lot of Russian food. She spoke a little Russian and even knew several dances and asked me to dance those with children. How could I not remember her?

To my surprise she remembered me too. I was so happy to come to their house and see her and girls again. It is the second time this family came into my life and I hope we will become true friends. Even though we live far away from each other in a huge Philadelphia suburban area, it is a small world after all. Or maybe it is a Holiday blessing that my fate presented to me.

I couldn’t stop thinking about destiny. It seems that these children had bad luck from the beginning, but one day the fortune favored them and blessed these precious girls with the best mom who turned their lives around. She really did.

I was stunned to see their progress and the difference that this woman has made in their lives. These three sisters are very friendly, loving and talented. When I asked the girls what they like to do, I was surprised by the number of activities they were involved in: from riding horses to ice skating. Unfortunately the girls little by little have forgotten the Russian language, so a Russian speaking Au Pair will help.

The family is looking forward to meeting a new member of their family- a Russian speaking Au Pair.

Do you think that it is not a fairy-tale story?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jeremy
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 13:34:19

    good post :-)

    Reply

  2. Tatjana Cejkova
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 07:30:44

    Hello I am from SSSR.I am speak russsian and very like children .I am looking
    work au-pair, nanny.Have anice day .Tanya

    Reply

  3. goaupair philadelphia
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 08:56:31

    Thank you for comment, Tanya. Please email to 2baupair@goaupair.com
    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

