My First Thanksgiving

Gobble, gobble!

How are you doing?  I’m here to talk about my first Thanksgiving here, as an Au Pair with my lovely host family.

As you already know I’m from Brazil and we don’t celebrate this Holiday there. I kinda knew what to expect, though because I used to work in a language school before I came to the U.S.

Well, let’s just say I was really surprised when November 24 came.

The day started early and everyone was very excited.

We went to my host mother’s sister’s house and  saw (and devoured) the result of a week of cooking:

Two kinds of lasagna, mashed potatoes, ham, vegetables, different types of pies, cakes and, of course, the famous turkey.

The family was together talking, watching football and Joey and Olivia were having a great time playing together and with their father.

I don’t need to talk about the leftovers, do I? Well, let’s say I was thankful til the next day.

To sum up: My first Thanksgiving was a success and I must say I’m thankful for these amazing people welcoming me into their family.

What about your Thanksgiving? How did you celebrated it?

Can’t wait for Christmas. Of course you will know about it here!  ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

