South African takes the world with help from GO AU PAIR

My name is Phila Sozombile from South Africa, I’m an Au Pair from Go Au Pair in Philadelphia.
 
At one stage I thought I would never survive the feeling of being thousands of miles away from home. For 21years I have lived with my close knit family and the thought of being away from them scared the death out of me. But being passionate about travelling, meeting new people and learning other cultures made me see the world in a whole different perspective.
I always thought that the only family I have are those related to me, people at home. Until I realized that I am a child of the universe, therefore the world is my home. I have been to places that I never thought I would be. In all of those places I’ve met wonderful people, people that make me feel at home.
 
Today I went to celebrate Chinese new year in China town Philadelphia with my friends (Au pairs) from China, Brazil, oGermany, France, El Salvador, Panama, Colombia and of course “ME” from South Africa. There is still more, we’re like the Rainbow Nation.
If I had to count them all it would take me hours. We had lots of fun, as we always do when we are together.
Here we are learning a Chinese New Year Song.
The point is, being away from your relatives doesn’t mean you are away from home/family. It is always home when there’s love. We are all sisters and our LAR Polina is like a mother to us. She has the best interest in our comfort and happiness.
We are family. We are living young, wild and free!!!
Now you tell me, what could possibly top that??? #wink#
Phila
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jade
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 15:15:35

    Hi, I would just like to know how to go about becoming an au pair, I’m from S.A as well and would really love to be able to do this!

    Reply

  2. Go Au Pair Philadelphia
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 12:16:37

    Thank you for your comment, Jade.
    For more information, please contact Go Au Pair agency http://www.goaupair.com/Au-Pairs/3-Steps-to-become-an-Au-Pair.aspx
    Good luck with everything. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

