My first American birthday.

Ophelia’s Diary.

Please enjoy this post about a very special birthday that the Au Pair from Go Au Pair agency Ophelia had in America. Thank you very much for sharing with us, Ophelia. And Happy Birthday again!  We love you!

Hi, I am Ophelia, an au pair from China and now I live in Philadelphia. I just been 21 last Wednesday, I have a fantastic birthday experience in the US with my host family and au pair friends!

 Au Pairs meeting at Bryn Athym 022

I have been here for almost two months, I live a happy life in here with my host family. My host mom Sophie likes cooking, I learnt a lot from her, can you image that she even baked a birthday cake for me! It’s the best cake I once got on my birthday! Also, I got an Amazon gift card and an eCard from grandma Sandy, she is in Alaska now, but she still remember my birthday, how sweet she is!

 Au Pair's cake

As my birthday was on Wednesday, most of my friends need to work, so we couldn’t celebrate it that day. But all my Au pair friends remembered my birthday, they posted lots of blessing words on my Facebook, this made me moved a lot! Finally on Saturday night, we got a chance to have a small au pair party for my birthday. We celebrated it at Monica’s home, Monica’s host parents are so nice, they even gave us some fund to suppose our party!

 Au Pair's birthday

It’s really a mini party, just Monica, Annie, Fernanda and I we four joined it, but we still have fun together. We planned to celebrate for another two au pairs together, as their birthdays are close, but unfortunately, they have to work at Saturday night. Now let me show you how fun was this mini party!

Au Pairs Philadelphia

This was our first time to meet Fernanda, she is a very nice and kind girl, and I got a lovely gift from her. And Monica cooked a flan for our party. That flan looks just like a perfect birthday cake, I love it a lot.  Also, I baked some classic bran muffins for our party, there are more recipes on Au Pair Sis Pinterest

Classic Bran Muffins

We got a lot of delicious food in here. When we were together, we talked a lot about our life in the US and in our hometown. My friends were interested in Chinese culture, so I tried to explain to my friends about how we write in Chinese.

As an au pair, I did feel a lot about the cultural difference, and I learned a lot, I enjoy it!

My host parents are so sweet, they knew I like cooking a lot, so they give me a wonderful cooking class as a birthday gift!  Guess what kind of birthday gift I got from my host parents?  It’s “classic Italian desserts cooking class”!

How wonderful the cooking class will be? Let me share it with you next time!
Read more stories from Ophelia’s Diary
Leave a Reply

