Amber, our new Australian Au Pair

Our second Australian Au Pair Amber joined our cluster in January. She is actually our first Australian Au Pair ever in our cluster! She’s 20 years old and I am very pleased to be her buddy. Amber lives with her host family in Bucks County and takes care of three kids.

 

As an Au Pair I am able to fulfill two of my greatest passions: caring for children and learning about different cultures.
 image1
I love to be outdoors, in Australia I spent most of my weekends camping, fishing, or riding the quad bikes. If I’m not doing that I am usually at the beach or somewhere quite reading a book or listening to music.
I have had a lot of amazing experiences since moving to the US however the best event in the past month happened just before I left Australia when I got to meet my baby cousin for the first time.
Three adjectives to describe Amber: loyal, adventurous, committed.
One place I’d like to visit is Texas.
image2
One of the best complements I have ever received was as n elder in a native community I lived in, in Australia, told me he felt I had become a part of their community. This was a huge deal for me as I loved their culture however given the history between Aboriginies and white Australians I wasn’t sure if I would ever be fully accepted in the community.
My favorite part of being an Au Pair is to be fully immersed in American culture.
The special thing about our Philadelphia area is that I am so close to an area where I can learn so much about American history.

image3
My best experience so far where in New York, where our orientation guide took us to an amazing restaurant called Ellen’s Stardust – as a musical theatre fan I had the time of my life there. I also really enjoyed learning to ski in Vermont and making my first snow angel.
I already met Amber twice and tomorrow we are going to volunteer for the Flower Show in Philadelphia. I’m looking forward to our activities together in the US and wish you all the best for your year!
Leave a Reply

