Ukrainian au pair: the background story and more

Hi, guys! I’m Tania, an au-pair from a beautiful and green country, situated in the heart of Europe – Ukraine. I have a great opportunity to interview new au-pairs from all over the world, joining our Philadelphia cluster! I’m so excited! But let me tell you a little bit about myself, my interests and my motherland.

20150626_115944

If you ever have a chance to travel to Europe, don’t miss the opportunity to visit Ukraine. You’ll never regret it, first of all, because of the really hospitable and open-hearted people, who are polite and ready to help the foreigners. Ukrainians are famous for their welcoming and friendly attitude to everyone.

1274111001

Secondly, the cuisine. I cannot even explain how delicious our national dish, called borsch is, just try it and you’ll understand what I mean:)  Borsch is a tasty combination of all the possible vegetables : potatoes, cabbage, beets, carrots, onions, mushrooms, peppers plus some sour cream, meat if you want, parsnip, basil and dill. My mom calls borsch ‘a delicious source of beauty and youth’, and I completely agree with her. Also there are such famous Ukrainian dishes as  varenyky (boiled dumplings with mushrooms, potatoes, cottage cheese, cherries or berries), nalysniky (pancakes with cottage cheese, poppy seeds, mushrooms, caviar or meat) and many many more. Next time we have a picnic together, I’m going to bring one of these amazing Ukrainian national dishes, promise:)

borsc-foto-16    Vareniki-s-vishney-foto

 

 

 

 

My country is famous for its beautiful and truly relaxing nature as well as interesting culture, lots of customs and traditions. There are many interesting places to visit, so if you plan going to Ukraine, let me know and I will share the valuable information about all the great sights with you)

Most-Beautiful-Ukraine-Pictures

Speaking about myself,well, back in Ukraine I used to be a teacher of English, I really loved it and still do. Now I’m trying to learn Spanish and want to thank my awesome au-pair friends Gene and Kathy for their help and endless patience:)They speak Spanish fluently and help me to get to the same level. You’re the best, bonitas amigas!  My hobbies are reading, cooking  (with my host mom’s support I learn a new recipe every week), playing tennis and spending time with my pets.I like doing different activities with my host kid, especially trying doing something new and exciting.  By the way, I’m really lucky to enjoy the company of my host family’s enormously cute cat, called Thor. Playing with him and petting him is the best thing in the world:)

20160325_233402

I also enjoy traveling, exploring new cultures and making new friends. So, I believe, interviewing new au-pairs will be a great experience as well as a lot of fun for me!

Please feel free to ask me any questions about Ukraine, my interests and hobbies, au-pair life or just anything which may come to your mind. I will be happy if you share some information about your countries, national dishes, traditions too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

