Tolerance, kindness, interest – New York Introductory Workshop

My name is Bianka, from Hungary, Europe. I am an au pair since the beginning of August, 2016. My first experiences, here in the US were in New York with some curious, enthusiastic people…14054328_1163887127019801_2435939692608322761_o.jpg

….I only spent 3 days with those guys in New York, but it was a really important experience in my life. Not because of the place, but the people with me. I am thankful for my Host Family that they provided me the possibility to go there and for the chance to met Patrick (our instructor).

In the hotel, the food was delicious. The atmosphere was calm and friendly. Everything was comfortable. We’ve seen the famous places, which I didn’t really care. Well, of course, that was SOMETHING, but for me, it was too much: too much people, too much smell, too much people around me. I didn’t get the New York City feeling, but I actually felt the city which never sleeps one.

“New York was a city where you could be frozen to death in the midst of a busy street and nobody would notice.”  Bob Dylan

Patrick taught us, how to try to save a life (or two), how to be calm in a dangerous situation. This wasn’t new for me, but it was extremely satisfying, more than we could ask for. He was chatty, funny and energetic. He’s a kind of man who you’ll always remember of.

Here are some things, I’ve learnt while I was in New York: 

  • It is okay, when somebody (who you are with) eats from your food. Without asking.
  • Don’t need to eat all of your food. It is okay to throw it away, when you are done.
  • You can do whatever you want!
  • Be tolerant and patient. All the time.
  • Ask! Ask! Ask! Ask, when you don’t understand something. Ask, when you need something. Ask!
  • Don’t be shy! Try to talk, or at least listen.
  • People here, try to understand you, even if your English is awful.
  • It does matter, where did you come from. Never ever forget that! Never feel ashamed because of it!

I hope, that the article was enjoyable! You’ll be able to read my posts about new au pairs, about the events, about my country and I’ll write posts when an au pair leaves. ♥

 

Leave a Reply

