Upcoming festivals in Hungary

As you knew,  I am from Hungary. I promised you, that I will share more information about my country and me. Now, I am going to share with you five upcoming festivals in Hungary. 

  • Here in America, people have Halloween today. What we have at home is All Soul’s Day(1st November) People go to the graveyards with flowers or stay at home and light candles there in memoriam of their loved ones, who passed away. izuizu
  • 6th December:  Saint Nicholas comes and leaves chocolate, mandarins and peanuts in the children’s boots.
  • 24th December, Christmas: little Jesus or the Angels come with ringing bells and leave presents under the Christmas tree. You spend this day with your close family. 25th and 26th of December are for the distant family (cousins ect..) I am going to write more about that around Christmas.
  • 31st DecemberNew Year’s Eve: people go out with friends and family to celebrate this day. At midnight people sing our National Anthem and watch the fireworks all over the country.
  • 1st January: after getting up in the afternoon and recovering from the party you had the day before, you should eat lentil, eggs, pork to be rich and to maintain your luck for the new year!

I hope you enjoyed my post! Next time, I will write about the other festivals we have during the first part of the year! ♥

 

Leave a Reply

