Farewell to Valentine, 2017 au pair in Excellence Winner.

Valentine sent me long, meaningful answers. She left a couple days ago, but I will always remember her. It was great to spend time with her and volunteer together, stay longer after everybody left. I am sure, she is going to enjoy her time with her family again and as far as I am concerned, her Host Kids will visit Valentine in France, which is amazing – that means, they built a strong relationship! So here are some pieces of the interview: 

19398119_616265155248507_1281116574_n

“I am very proud to be the Au Pair of the year and it is something that I was not expecting! I like to think, that I am the way I am because of my host kids, they are the best so I try to be the best au pair and sister that they deserve.”
My favourite way to spend my free time was to either go see a movie at the movie theatre because it helped me with my vocabulary by learning new words and phrases or volunteering at a little co-op in town. It was something I did every Friday afternoon since January until mid June and I liked the job and I made some really good friends there!

 What I like about being an au pair in the USA with Go Au Pair is that there’s always someone you can talk to, they will listen to you and try to find a solution. I like the fact that they organize meetings that you can go to and meet other au pairs from different countries and who live not far from you. I loved when we all volunteered at the International Spring Festival in Lansdale this year and even my host kid who is 11 years old helped us that day which was great!

 

The most valuable lesson that I learned while being in the US as an Au Pair is to stand up for yourself, do not let people take advantage of you because there are lots of people out there who try to make you things you don’t want to do and don’t respect the rules. So talk about it with someone if you are not comfortable in a situation speak up and make things change.
The favourite part about being an au pair is that you sometimes get to create an amazing relationship between you and your host family. That’s what happened for me, I came here and found another family, the 2 little girls I took care of for almost 10 months are now like sisters to me.

The experience that I will never forget is when I left for 10 days to go visit California (Los Angeles, San Francisco and San Diego exactly) all alone, with only a backpack. It was amazing, I met so many incredible people there, did things I never thought I would and took so many pictures of the beautiful things I’ve seen to show my family once I go back to France!

 

“I would recommend being an au pair, because it is a great experience, not easy every day but you will be rewarded by so much love and happiness in your life, that it is absolutely worth it!”
Leave a Reply

